25
Jul
07

Shih Tzu+ Lhasa Apso+ Tibetan Terrier=?

I posted a few weeks ago about thinking my Shih Tzu wasn’t a Shih Tzu… I haven’t found out much, all i know now is that He isn’t a pure Shih Tzu. At first I tought he was just big for his breed, I didn’t suspect much since my Vet didn’t flinch or look at me like I was totally insane when i said “hes a Shih Tzu”, I have also gotten more then a few comments along the lines of “oh! what a cute little shih tzu…” while walking down the street, around town and dining outdoors.

So anyway once I figured out that Bruno, my pup, couldn’t be pure shih tzu I thought maybe he was part Lhasa Apso or some form of Lhasa Mix, maybe a Shih Apso ?? I couldn’t and still can’t find any pictures of Lhasa’s, Lhasa mixes or Shih Apso’s that resemble Bruno enough to be totally convinced that it what he is… he has some features and some characteristics of both Lhasa’s and Shih Tzu’s but together it still doesn’t sum him up.

I am angry and annoyed that I was completely and totally lied to by the people who sold him to me, they had fake documents ranging from birth certificates to family trees, more then likely it was a total scam and i know these things happen daily and its frustrating because i just want to know what my dog is, it doesn’t matter if he’s a Shih Tzu, a Lhasa Apso, a mix or a mutt. Knowing what breed a dog is important for medical and behavioral reasons and that’s the only reason why I care to know what breed he his.

Last night I came across a photo of Tibetan Terrier mix, he looked just like Bruno, so of course I dug up as much info on Tibetan Terrier’s and looked at as many pictures I could find… again like the photos and the info on Shih Tzu’s and Lhasa Apso’s there wasn’t enough matching info to convince me, so i ask my readers, does anyone have experience or knowledge of theses breeds? does anyone have an opinion based on pictures?

Any suggestions, advise and or knowledge is greatly appreciated, more photos of Bruno can be found here

3 Responses to “Shih Tzu+ Lhasa Apso+ Tibetan Terrier=?”


  1. 25, July, 2007 at 7:33 am

    Whatever he is, he sure is cute 🙂

  2. 26, July, 2007 at 1:15 am

    I would say he looks like a Lhasa in the picture where he’s wearing the knitted hat but I see Tzu when he’s behind the wheel. There are differences. Lhasas have flatter heads and almond shaped eyes. Shih Tzu have round eyes and round heads. Lhasas are a little bit bigger. Also, Shih Tzu have smushed in faces. I can tell the difference between the breeds when I watch a dog show on TV but with dogs from pet shops, backyard breeders or shelters, it’s really tough to tell sometimes, especially when you can’t meet the parents. A rescuer I know once did chart for us to be able to identify breeds. I will see if I can find the link to it. I believe Tibetan terriers are larger than Lhasas even. How big is Bruno now? The best way to be sure you are getting a well-bred purebred dog is to go a responsible breeder. Anything else is a crap shoot. And you can’t go by the papers because you can register a dog with the American Kennel Club and they never even have to see it.

  3. 26, July, 2007 at 1:23 am

    I only have one picture of Maggie on Flickr. (I’m a bad dog mom.)
    Maggie the Shih Tzu

    She’s on Dogster too.
    http://www.dogster.com/dogs/2620

    Here’s the breed chart I mentioned before. I hope it helps.
    http://theyreallkeepers.com/idall.html


Leave a Reply

